She Bop

May, my Canadian editor tells me, is National Masturbation Month.

I thought she may be making that up because it certainly hasn’t been mentioned on the Today programme. However, Google knew better and directed me to the San Francisco Examiner.

In case you were wondering, May is National Masturbation Month. The celebration of May as National Masturbation Month began in 1995 in San Francisco as a response to the forced resignation of then U.S. Surgeon General Joycelyn Elders.

After a speech at the United Nations World AIDS Day in 1994, an audience member asked Elders about masturbation’s potential for discouraging early sexual activity. She answered,“I think it is something that is part of human sexuality and a part of something that perhaps should be taught.”

That was the end of Elders’ career as America’s first black Surgeon General, but the spark for National Masturbation Month.

So it’s real. Kinda. And not at all just a joke that served as a nice PR stunt for a manufacturer of sex toys.

That same SFE article reports back on a survey that says only 38 percent of women said they’d masturbated at all during the past year, while 61 percent of men had done so. The author then speculates on the reasons for this without considering that some people are embarrassed about Touching Themselves and consequently lie about it.

Not everyone, sure. Maybe only 61 percent of women and 39 percent of men.

I masturbate. Not every day – it would have been rude to get myself off over the weekend when I was sharing my bed with a friend. But more days than I don’t.

Apart from the obvious appeal, it’s an excellent way to relax, clear my mind, and get ready for sleep. I also get some of my best plot ideas shortly after.

Lately, however, I’ve been writing flash erotica for my new friends over at Pankhearst and the urge to touch myself has become an important part of my quality control procedure. If I don’t find my hand drifting south as I’m writing then I can be sure I’m going to need to rewrite.

This is the point where you post comments telling me I’m some kind of sick freak.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “She Bop

Leave a Reply

